Paleo for Parkinson’s?

So, Darc and I decided to do a cleanse for the month of March. Spring is a great time to detox… your body and your living space (we moved apartments, so we also did some major spring cleaning of our ‘stuff’!). We decided to follow Tim Ferris’ 4-hour body Slow Carb Diet … basically cutting out everything but protein and veggies. It was hard, at first… then after a month we decided to extend it a bit longer. Now, a low carb diet is becoming a habit (are you surprise? this is from the guy who bakes … and I mean CHECK OUT THESE pancakes, english muffins, bread, cinnamon buns, pizza, AND croissants!!).

Lately, we’ve been looking into the Paleo diet (…though being a vegetarian i’m a bit unsure of where I’m going to get all my protein without legumes) and we came across this great book at the library…

photo

… and whatdya know, they have a section on eating for Neurological health, including Parkinson’s disease!

photo

The book suggests some nutrients, such as B vitamins, Vitamin C, D & E, magnesium,  potassium, omega-3’s, probiotics, zinc among others…

photo


It also discusses dietary / lifestyle factors you should add (fats, antioxidants, massage, stress-management) and avoid (gluten, dairy, sweeteners, caffeine) … though I DO NOT agree with avoiding high-intensity exercise, as research demonstrates it IS beneficial.
photo

… and finally some considerations around protein, Vitamin B6 and Levodopa.

photo

… now I’m curious… Let me know IN THE COMMENTS BELOWdo YOU follow ay special diet plans?

Have you tried a gluten-free or Paleo diet?

How does diet modification change YOUR Parkinson’s management (because we all know everyone is different!)??

much love.

4 thoughts on “Paleo for Parkinson’s?

  1. My husband has been on a Paleo diet for about a year and I have not because of his high protein intake. But, After reading your blog I see you have to consume protein 2 hours after my meds with my evening meal? Do you have any more information? Thank you Diane

    • Hi Diane! I suggest you speak with clinician (as I am not one), but levodopa is absorbed in the gut and competes for absorption with other amino acids (in proteins). So, in order to have maximum absorption of your levodopa medication, it is best to not have any protein amino acids around for competition. The timing depends entirely on your digestion rate, but having protein 1hr before or 1-2hrs after medication is typical.
      Since Paleo is highly focused on protein, I would suggest speaking with a clinician or registered dietician before starting. … Does that help?? Thanks! K

  2. Thanks for any other magnificent article. The place else may just anyone get
    that type of info in such an ideal approach of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such
    info.

  3. Pingback: 7 Things to Do the Day After Your PD Diagnosis | Parkinson's Women Support

Leave a Reply

