meaningful conversations

… so i’m still on the “mono-tasking train”… it’s quite a journey, sometimes I hop off (fall off?), and other times i’m standing at the tracks thumbing a ride… but I’m still working on it.

I’ve been thinking a lot about meaningful conversations…

my favourite (well, usual) time to talk on the phone is when i’m making dinner.

(apartment therapy.com)

… and i’m sure you know the story from here – the pot boils over, I cut my finger, I burn something… and all the while I can’t really listen to the person I care about.

It doesn’t make it easy that a lot of the people I care about are about 3hours ahead of my timezone, but I’ve really been making the effort to give the person on the other end my full attention. Because they matter.

(123rf.com)

and besides I’m clumsy enough, I don’t need any more distractions in the kitchen, but I think that runs in the family … just ask my mom about superglueing her fingers together while making a NewYearsEve mask during our last Skype date 😉

dinner with mom!

so, even though they are not there in person, take the time to connect to those you love, it’s worth it! much love.

2 thoughts on “meaningful conversations

  1. Pingback: time to eat! … and mindful kitchen time « kaitlyn p roland

  2. Pingback: MINDFULNESS on TIME magazine cover – but is it the whole story? | Kaitlyn Roland

Leave a Reply

