Nah-mah-stay

did you ever wonder what your teacher and others are saying at the end of yoga class??

… was it Namenstag? Nomastay?

-

Nah-mah-stay… or Namaste is a Hindi salutation or greeting.

from me to you, Namaste.

Traditionally, saying Namaste is a mark of respect that the younger ones show their elders and in turn the elders bestow their blessings on them, or simply a greeting between friends and acquaintances.

The gesture has a subtle effect on the aura and nervous system, and is thought to bring focused attention to the subtle energy body.

-

Meanings:

  • your spirit is the same as mine and therefore there is no difference between you and me.
  • I welcome the place where you and I meet.
  • my energy salutes the energy lying within you.
  • I recognize the power of divinity that dwells in your heart
  • the divine in me recognizes and bows down to the divine in you

-

How to say Namaste:

The right way requires you to fold your hands, touch your palms and take the hands close to your heart (anjali mudra), resembling the position of hands while performing prayers.

the right palm represents the feet of the divinity (i.e. our divine nature) and the left palm signifies the head of the devotee (i.e. our worldly nature). The gesture, which involves the clasping of hands, is symbolic of unification of man and God.

-

so,

I honor the place in you
in which the entire Universe dwells,

I honor the place in you
which is of Love, of Truth, of Light and of Peace,

When you are in that place in you,
and I am in that place in me,
we are One. Namaste.

-

much love.

One thought on “Nah-mah-stay

Leave a Reply

